The Chief of Staff to the governor of Cross River State, Chief Martins Orim has emerged the winner of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Senate primary for Cross River North.

He defeated Barr. Cecilia Adams in a controversial primary that saw another faction of the party conducting a separate primary.

Chief Orim scored 254 votes in the primary which was monitored by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, and the APC National Working Committee.

In a different primary, Barr. Adams was alleged to have defeated Chief Orim and Governor Ben Ayade.

Result from Cross River Central shows that the Speaker of the Cross River State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Eteng Jones Williams emerged the winner, defeating Chief Akin Ricketts, Barr. Okoi Obono Obla and Mrs. Mary Ekpere.

Hon. Williams scored a total of 152 votes to edge out his main rival, Chief Ricketts who scored 109 votes. 

Barr. Obla garnered 19 votes while Mrs. Ekpere recorded 35 votes.

From Cross River South, the immediate past Commissioner for Finance, Mr. Asuquo Ekpenyong Jnr was declared the winner after garnering 347 votes while his rival, Chief Victor Effiom did not record any vote.

Be a part of Grassroot Reporters Team. Report latest happenings around you. Send in your reports, adverts to WhatsApp: +2347033996028 or email:

By Admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Click one of our contacts below to chat on WhatsApp

× Submit a story, chat with us
%d bloggers like this: